The Technology Innovation Agency has one vacant position on the Board. The Minister of Science and Technology hereby invites interested parties to nominate candidates to be considered for appointment to the Technology Innovation Agency (TIA) Board in line with section 5 of the TIA Act, 2008 (Act No. 26 of 2008).


The objective of the TIA is to support the state in stimulating and intensifying technological innovation, in order to improve economic growth and the quality of life of all South Africans by developing and exploiting technological innovations.


In terms of section 5(1) of the Act, the Board will consist of –


(a)    a chairperson;


(b)    not less than six and not more than nine members;


(c)    the Chief Executive Officer of the Agency, who will serve as an ex officio member.


The new member of the Board will be appointed in his/her personal capacity and serve on a part-time basis for the remainder of the four-year period, until 30 April 2021. Allowances will be in accordance with the National Treasury's guidelines for remuneration.


Members of the Board are appointed on the basis of their knowledge of and experience in technological innovation, technology management, intellectual property and its commercialisation, and business, which together enable them to further the objectives of the Agency.


Members should also have significant experience in corporate governance, ideally of institutions of a similar stature to the TIA.


Nominations should be submitted to the Minister of Science and Technology by no later than       15 November 2018.


Relevant curricula vitae for nominated candidates should be provided, including the following information:  identity number; gender; race; designation and responsibilities; contact details (postal and email addresses, cellular and landline numbers); qualifications and field; current and past service on boards; areas of expertise; and the names and contact details of at least two referees.


Confirmation of the availability of the nominee is also required. 


Nominations may be sent to the Director-General: Science and Technology, for attention Ms Olorato Mpolokeng, in one of the following ways:


  •  By post to the Department of Science and Technology, Private Bag X894, Pretoria, 0001.
  • By hand to the Department of Science and Technology, Building 53, CSIR (Scientia) Campus, Meiring Naudé Road, Brummeria, Pretoria.
  • By email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..



NB: Nominations will not be considered unless all the above requirements are met. Correspondence will be entered into with shortlisted candidates only.


Enquiries:  Happy Molefe at 012 843 6651