Prof. Daya Reddy first President of new International Science Council


The Minister of Science and Technology, Ms Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane, congratulates renowned mathematician Prof. Daya Reddy on his election as the first president of the newly formed International Science Council (ISC).


Prof. Reddy, who is a professor of applied mathematics at the University of Cape Town and holds the South African Research Chair in Computational Mechanics, was elected at the council’s inaugural general assembly held in Paris last week. He will serve in the position for three years.


The Minister said Prof. Reddy’s election was significant as it reflected South Africa’s standing in the international scientific community.


The ISC is a new global organisation brings together 40 international scientific unions and associations and over 140 national and regional scientific organisations, including academies and research councils.  It is the only non-governmental global entity representing both the natural and social sciences. The new council resulted from the merging of the International Social Science Council (ISSC) and the International Council for Science (ICSU).  It creates a unified, global voice for science, with a powerful presence in all regions of the world and representation across the natural (including physical, mathematical and life) and social (including behavioural and economic) sciences.


The ISC will develop an impact-oriented agenda focusing on science for policy and policy for science, with the intention of enabling international research coordination to contribute more effectively to major issues across the globe.


Prof. Reddy, an eminent and respected scholar and scientist, is the President of the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), Co-Chair of the Inter Academy Council, and a Fellow of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS). He obtained his BSc in Engineering from the University of Cape Town, and PhD from the University of Cambridge.


He is a recipient of the Order of Mapungubwe (Bronze), awarded by the President of South Africa for distinguished contributions to science.


South Africa's Dr Saths Cooper was elected to the cohort of Ordinary Members.


The other members elected to the ISC Executive are –

  • President-elect: Sir Peter Gluckman, former Chief Science Advisor of New Zealand;
  • Vice-President: Prof. Jinghai Li (China);  Vice-President: Prof. Elisa Reis (Brazil);
  • Treasurer : Dr Reneé van Kessel (The Netherlands);
  • Secretary: Prof. Alik Ismail-Zadeh (Russia).


South Africa’s engagement with the ISC is managed by the National Research Foundation and the Human Sciences Research Council. Approximately 30 South African national committees/unions are affiliated to the ISC. The NRF is a member of the new Global Funders Group led by the ISC, which focuses on the UN Sustainable Development Goals.


Issued by the Department of Science and Technology


For more information contact Taslima Viljoen at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..




Switchboard: +27 12 843 6300
DSI Building (Building No. 53)
(CSIR South Gate Entrance)  
Meiring Naudé Road, Brummeria  
Private Bag X894, Pretoria
South Africa
© 2021 Department of Science and Innovations . All Rights Reserved.