Minister of Science and Technology to launch research chairs in partnership with Nedbank

Nedbank has partnered with the Department of Science and Technology's entity, the National Research Foundation, to jointly fund three new research chairs under the South African Research Chairs Initiative (SARChI).


SARChI is a strategic intervention by government to attract and retain research excellence and innovation at universities, science councils and national research facilities.


The three new research chairs are aligned with the National Development Plan, and are headed by female researchers at historically disadvantaged institutions.  The chairs – in energy materials, cardio-metabolic health, and substance abuse and population mental health, will be based at Wits University, the Cape Peninsula University of Technology and the Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University.


The Minister of Science and Technology, Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane, will launch the three research chairs in Johannesburg on Friday, 6 July, along with the Chief Executive Officer of Nedbank, Mike Brown.


The details of the event are as follows:


DATE:           Friday, 6 July 2018

VENUE:        Nedbank, Indaba Room, 135 Rivonia Road, Sandton

TIME:           10:00 – 12:00


For media enquiries, please contact Veronica Mohapeloa at 083 400 5750 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Issued by the Department of Science and Technology


Switchboard: +27 12 843 6300
DSI Building (Building No. 53)
(CSIR South Gate Entrance)  
Meiring Naudé Road, Brummeria  
Private Bag X894, Pretoria
South Africa
© 2021 Department of Science and Innovations . All Rights Reserved.