Students to represent SA at supercomputing competition in Germany next year

South African students from different universities will represent the country at the International Student Cluster Competition hosted at the 2018 International Supercomputing Conference in Germany.

The students came first at a national competition which took place during the annual Centre for High Performance Computing (CHPC) conference in Pretoria last week.  

The students were part of ten teams, consisting of four undergraduate students from universities across the country, who battled it out to demonstrate their cluster building and high performance computing skills.

The winning team will now compete next year with other 11 teams from different countries such China, Singapore, Thailand, Poland, and Germany among others.

In a real-time challenge, the students build small high performance computing clusters on the exhibition floor, using hardware provided by CHPC and its industrial partners, and race to demonstrate the best performance across a series of benchmarks and applications.

The CHPC is one of three primary pillars of the national cyber infrastructure intervention initiated by the Department of Science and Technology (DST) and managed by the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR).

Speaking at the competition the Department of Science and Technology’s Director-General, Dr Phil Mjwara, said that the department was committed to investing in science, engineering and innovation including the establishment and support institutes such as the CHPC.

“This kind of government assistance fosters the creation and dissemination of knowledge of innovation and has a strong influence on the long-term competitiveness of the country,” said Dr Mjwara.

“There’s no doubt that a country’s information, communications and technology (ICT) sector is vital to its long-term prosperity. The globally competitive ICT structure creates a sustainable ecosystem and enables researchers and scientists to globally compete,” he said.

Last year, South Africa came second and is hoping to bring home another medal next year.

CHPC Director, Dr Happy Sithole is confident that the team South Africa will make the nation proud next.

“We are very proud of what we have managed to achieve as country. Last year our team managed to compete with the best teams and we won. We believe that this team will make us proud.”

Dr Happy Sithole said the objective was to create awareness of High Performance Computing and the great impact it has on the country.

“Students receive a unique opportunity to learn, experience and demonstrate how high performance computing influences our world and day-to-day learning.”

The winning team include:

·         Rosendorff Meir (Wits)

·         Bruton Joshua (Wits)

·         Paupamah Kimessha (Wits)

·         Mokoena Katleho (Wits)

·         Sithole Njabulo (University of Limpopo)

·         Michlo Nathan (Wits)

·         Giga Biters    and Evans     Sharon (Wits)

·         Gekko Bulbulia Zubair (Wits)


For more details, please contact:

David Mandaha:

CSIR Media Relations Manager

Telephone: 012 841 3654/ 072 126 8910

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Switchboard: +27 12 843 6300
DSI Building (Building No. 53)
(CSIR South Gate Entrance)  
Meiring Naudé Road, Brummeria  
Private Bag X894, Pretoria
South Africa
© 2021 Department of Science and Innovations . All Rights Reserved.