Image credit: By Xavier Photography

The 2017 edition of the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Sub-Saharan Africa ceremony celebrated 14 young female scientists. As part of the programme launched in 2010, female scientists from across Sub-Saharan Africa were honoured for their work and impact in the scientific field.  Their fields of research vary across different disciplines and address key global issues.   


Since 1998, the L’Oréal Corporate Foundation and UNESCO have been committed to women in science and to increasing the number of women working in scientific research. 150 years after Marie Curie’s birth, still only 28%* of researchers are women and only 3% of Scientific Nobel Prizes are awarded to them. That is why, for the past 19 years, the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science programme has worked to honour and accompany women researchers at key moments in their careers. Since the programme began, it has supported more than 2,700 young women from 115 countries and celebrated 97 Laureates, at the peak of their careers, including professors Elizabeth H. Blackburn and Ada Yonath, who went on to win a Nobel Prize.


Sandeep Rai, Managing Director, L’Oréal South Africa highlighted the power of these women scientists and the women scientists who have been celebrated this year. “The world continues to face unprecedented challenges such as climate change, water scarcity, illnesses and food security among other issues.  Only a shared, controlled science, at the service of the world’s population, is able to meet the major challenges of the twenty-first century, and our researchers are the proof.”


The recipients of the Post-Doctoral regional fellowships of 10 000 Euros each are:


  •  Charlette Tiloke, South Africa - Durban University of Technology


 Title of Project: Anticancer and antimicrobial activity of Moringa oleifera, and Sutherlandia frutescens and their nanoparticles.


  • Kenda Knowles, South Africa - University of Kwazulu-Natal


Title of Project: Statistical study of diffuse radio emission in ACT galaxy clusters with MeerKAT


The recipients of the Doctoral fellowships of 5 000 Euros each are:      


  • Oluwademilade Fayemiwo, Nigeria - University of Johannesburg


Title of Project: Novel tannin-based adsorbents from green tea for the removal of organic pollutants in oilfield produced water


  • Priscah Omoke, Kenya - Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science And Technology


Title of Project: Characterization of similarity orbits of invariant subspaces of norm-attainable operators


  •  Olawumi Sadare, Nigeria - University of the Witwatersrand


Title of Project: Development and Evaluation of Adsorption coupling Bio-desulphurization (AD/BDS) process for the desulphurization of South African Petroleum Distillates. 


  • Juliana Mandha, Uganda - Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science and Technology


Title of Project: Value addition in the fruit processing chain to increase the nutritional value and to enhance the small holder farmers’ income in Uganda


  • Carol Mahachi, Zimbabwe - Stellenbosch University


Title of Project: Inflammation Markers Associated with Kidney Disease in HIV positive patients


  • Godiraone Nkoni, Botswana - University of Botswana


Title of Project: variability in lower stratospheric ozone concentration over the Kalahari transect as a precursor for climate change assessment


  • Verena Gounden, South Africa - University of Kwa-Zulu Natal


Title of Project: Effect of environmental endocrine disruptor Bisphenol A BPA on epigenetic regulation of steroid hormone metabolism and influence on associated levels of hormones among mother and child pairs


  • Cynthia Tamandjou, Cameroon - Stellenbosch University


Title of Project: Hepatitis B virus mother-to-Child-transmission in Namibia: transmission dynamics and possibilities for elimination


  • Therina Du Toit, South Africa  - Stellenbosch University


Title of Project: The profiling of C11-oxy steroids by UPC2-MS/MS quantification in clinical conditions characterized by androgen excess and in steroid abuse. 


  • Lethiwe Mthembu, South Africa - Durban University of Technology


Title of Project: Ionic liquid optimization and synthesis of levulinic acid and levulinic acid derivatives from sugarcane bagasse


  • Maléki Assih, Togo - Université Ouaga I Pr Joseph Ki-Zerbo


Title of Project: Immunity in viral hepatitis B: Evaluation of the cytokine profile and immunoglobulins in vaccinated individuals and carriers of HBsAg in Burkina Faso


  • Augustina Frimpong, Ghana - University of Ghana


Title of Project: Analysis of T cell receptor diversity in paediatric malaria patients


The L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Sub-Saharan Africa programme has reached many women across Africa. The prestigious Awards Ceremony where the scientists were presented with the fellowship took place on the evening of 8 November at The Venue Greenpark, Johannesburg. 

2017 L’Oréal-UNESCO Sub-Saharan Africa Regional Fellowships


For more information on the For Women in Science programme visit www.forwomeninscience.com


*UNESCO Science Report Toward 2030, 2015


For more information, please contact:

 Helen Da Fonseca 

 L’Oreal South Africa

 Tel:  011 286 0742

 Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.





Switchboard: +27 12 843 6300
DSI Building (Building No. 53)
(CSIR South Gate Entrance)  
Meiring Naudé Road, Brummeria  
Private Bag X894, Pretoria
South Africa
© 2021 Department of Science and Innovations . All Rights Reserved.