Following a country-wide search and vigorous competition of the brightest young minds in the land, a group of KwaZulu-Natal grade 12 learners scooped the coveted 2017 Minquiz™, National Science Competition championship held at Mintek.

Competing in the top five finalists namely; Western Cape, Limpopo, Eastern Cape and Free State, the winning team excelled with 110 points in the oral stage of the competition while Limpopo and Eastern Cape provinces took second and third place with 105 and 95 points respectively.

KwaZulu-Natal was represented by learners, Yanga Jafta (17) from Wiggens Secondary, Sbusiso Zitha (18) from Siyamukela High , Hendrik Le Roux (18) from Maritzburg College and Rorke Lilford (18) from Westville Boys High School. As they receive their award on stage, Zitha shed tears of joy. He said, “It’s overwhelming to win this prestigious award, our hardwork and dedication has made us proud.”

In the individual written test category Jack Kobeli from Teto High School, Free State province and Joshua Puterill of Somerset College, Western Cape won the Top Learner gold and platinum category awards respectively.

Johanna Feris from Saul Damon High School, Northern Cape and Rorisang Phasha of Uplands College, Mpumalanga, received awards in the Top Girl Learner Platinum and Gold Platinum categories.

Delivering a keynote speech, Mboneni Moufhe, Deputy Director General, Technology Innovation at the Department of Science & Technology said,“Minquiz™ is a competition that learners pursue to acquire more knowledge. Learners must seek and acquire knowledge and create more knowledge necessary to take South Africa forward.” “This competition is a foundation that grooms learners as future leaders of the country,” Moufhe added.


The first, second and third winning team members received R715, R495 and R275 and miniature trophies respectively while their schools represented in the first, second and third winning provincial teams received R3, 575.00, R2, 475.00 and R1, 375.00 .

The Top Learner Platinum and Gold category awards recipients received laptops, the Top Girl Platinum and Gold categories received R1100 cash prize and all 52 participants received WIFI android Tablets.


2nd Place Winner: Limpopo Province


 School Represented

Itumeleng Mkhondo

 Mogale Wa Bagale Technical School

Mandla Pleasure Nobela

 Hluvuka high school

Gerald Tanatswa Munyoro

 Rusplaas Christian Model C School

Lehlogonolo Gifty Mathobela

 Moreko Secondary School


3rd Place Winner: Eastern Cape Province


School Represented

Nicholas Glenn Thompson

 Westering High School

Anre Anvari

 Grey High School

Leekesha Roney Adams

 Lawson Brown High School

Tristan Luyt

 Stirling High School


About Minquiz™

Organised by Mintek, national research organisation specialising in mineral and metallurgical innovation. Minquiz™ was established in 1988, and has become South Africa’s premier national science competition for Grade 12 learners. The aim of Minquiz™ is to promote excellence in Physical Science and Mathematics, thereby fostering interest in careers in science, engineering and technology at a tertiary level.