Ten young SA scientists will be among an expected 200 delegates attending the 2nd BRICS Young Scientist Forum from 11 to 15 July in Hang Zhou, China. This year’s gathering will be held under the theme, Building Young Scientists Leadership in Science, Technology and Innovation.

The young scientists, accompanied by three senior researchers were nominated by the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) in a joint venture with the Department of Science and Technology and the National Research Foundation and will be among 200 delegates expected at the forum. 

The forum will comprise four thematic areas: energy, material, biotechnology & biomedicine, as well as one cross-cutting field of science, technology and innovation policies, science communication and science popularisation.

The forum will provide a high-level platform of academic and policy exchange for talented young scientists as well as scientific personnel from BRICS countries to help them grow their skills, broaden their horizon and improve academic and policy qualifications, stimulate the interest of talented young scientists in the strategic research of future technologies, direct their attention to the most promising and important field of science and technology, promote exchanges and friendship, expand channels of cooperation, strengthen inter-disciplinary integration, encourage new academic inspirations, cultivate new academic disciplines and produce valuable policy advice.

ASSAf is committed to the promotion of young scientists’ activities and regularly supports the nomination of young scientists for awards and leadership opportunities.

The young scientists are:

Dr Patience Mthunzi-Kufa, CSIR; Dr Karen Cloete, iThemba Labs; Prof Rapela Maphanga, University of Limpopo (UL); Dr Luyanda Noto, Unisa; Dr Banothile Makhubela, University of Johannesburg; Raesibe Sylvia Ledwaba, UL; Nokuthula Ethel Magida, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University; Dr Busiswa Ndaba, Agricultural Research Council; Dr Gaokgatlhe Mirriam Tawane, University of the Witwatersrand; Dr Shivan Chetty, University of Cape Town. Senior scientists to accompany them are Dr Mkhulu Mathe, CSIR, Prof Phuthi Ngoepe, UL, and Muziwandile Madikizela, University of Pretoria.